Three Liga MX clubs to feature in the 2025 FIFA Club World Cup

Confirmed after Pachuca lifted the 2024 CONCACAF Champions League, Liga MX will be represented with three clubs at next summer's tournament.
Manchester City v Fluminense: Final - FIFA Club World Cup Saudi Arabia 2023
Manchester City v Fluminense: Final - FIFA Club World Cup Saudi Arabia 2023 / Eurasia Sport Images/GettyImages

The next FIFA Club World Cup will have a new look to it. The previous model took place in December, between the respective continental winners from each confederation. Now, the competition will be much more inviting, with 32 clubs taking part, but instead of it taking place every year, it will be every four years.

The inaugural competition with this format will be held in the United States between 15th June 2025 and 13th July 2025.

Making up the teams to take part, four of those will be from CONCACAF. Teams that qualify will be those who lift the coveted club prize for North and Central America, and Caribbean clubs (CONCACAF Champions League) between 2021-2024. As such, the clubs invited will be Monterrey, Seattle Sounders, Club León, and Pachuca.

The tournament presents an exciting opportunity for the qualified teams. A chance to go head-to-head with the likes of Real Madrid, Bayern Munich, Palmeiras, and River Plate.

The qualified clubs for the new-look tournament include (list available via

  • Al Ahly (EGY) – 2020/21, 2022/23 and 2023/24 CAF Champions League
  • Wydad (MAR) – 2021/22 CAF Champions League
  • ES Tunis (TUN) - CAF ranking pathway
  • Mamelodi Sundowns (RSA) - CAF ranking pathway
  • Al Hilal (KSA) – 2021 AFC Champions League
  • Urawa Red Diamonds (JPN) – 2022 AFC Champions League
  • Al Ain (UAE) - 2023/24 AFC Champions League
  • Ulsan HD FC (KOR) - AFC ranking pathway
  • Chelsea (ENG) – 2020/21 UEFA Champions League
  • Real Madrid (ESP) – 2021/22 & 2023/24 UEFA Champions League
  • Manchester City (ENG) – 2022/23 UEFA Champions League
  • Bayern Munich (GER) – UEFA ranking pathway
  • Paris Saint-Germain (FRA) – UEFA ranking pathway
  • Inter Milan (ITA) – UEFA ranking pathway
  • Porto (POR) - UEFA ranking pathway
  • Benfica (POR) – UEFA ranking pathway
  • Borussia Dortmund (GER) - UEFA ranking pathway
  • Juventus (ITA) - UEFA ranking pathway
  • Atletico Madrid (ESP) - UEFA ranking pathway
  • FC Salzburg (AUT) - UEFA ranking pathway
  • Monterrey (MEX) – 2021 Concacaf Champions Cup
  • Seattle Sounders (USA) – 2022 Concacaf Champions Cup
  • Club Leon (MEX) – 2023 Concacaf Champions Cup
  • CF Pachuca (MEX) - 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup
  • Auckland City (NZL) – OFC ranking pathway
  • Palmeiras (BRA) – 2021 CONMEBOL Libertadores
  • Flamengo (BRA) – 2022 CONMEBOL Libertadores
  • Fluminense (BRA) – 2023 CONMEBOL Libertadores
  • River Plate (ARG) - CONMEBOL ranking pathway

There are still three spots up for grabs, but they will go to two clubs from CONMEBOL and a representative from the host nation, United States.

The set-up will be the same as the international World Cup. Eight groups with four teams in each. The top two teams will qualify for a knockout format until we reach the final where one of these teams will be crowned champion.

Now we know who will represent CONCACAF, be sure to let us know how you think the Mexican clubs will fare against the heavyweights across the different confederations.